With Thanks To

No account of the Regatta would be complete without the mention of five men, Alfred Davis, Frank Harman, Charles Rowe, Giles Every and Tony Evans, who between them ran the regatta for one hundred and thirteen years. Alfred Davis was elected secretary in 1892, a post which he held until his death in 1924. He was succeeded by Frank Harman, who served as Hon.Secretary from 1925 to 1947. He was elected President in 1951 which office he held until his death in 1955.

Blades in a row
Charles Rowe started as assistant to Alfred Davis in 1912 and was elected Assistant Secretary in 1925. Later he became Secretary until his retirement in 1966. In 1967 he was elected President but sadly only lived to hold the post for one year. Giles Every took over the post of Hon. Secretary from Charles Rowe and through his enthusiasm and hard work brought about many of the changes that produced the high attendance of both crews and crowds in the 1970s and 80s. His tragic death with his wife in a car accident just after the 1984 Regatta was a sad blow not only to the Regatta but to the Rowing world in general. A stone memorial to his memory is to be found marking the start of the old Marlow course near Temple.

Tony Evans took over the role of Hon. Secretary in June 1984 and oversaw the further expansion of the regatta at Marlow, with over 200 crews competing at the 2000 event. With the development of the rowing lake by Eton College at Dorney, Tony led the initiative to persuade the regatta's subscribers to move Marlow Regatta there in 2001. A move which has been vindicated by the increased competitor entry levels from 200 in 2000 to over 460 in 2005. Tony stood down as Hon. Secretary at the 2006 annual general meeting

Marlow Regatta has a long history and this is set to continue, since its move to the man made rowing lake at Dorney, Eton, and with the creation of the Marlow Town Regatta and Festival on the Thames in Marlow.